Action Needed!

Both the House and Senate voted to restore GAMC cuts yesterday. This was a bi-partisan vote and passed overwhelmingly. For that we are happy!

However there is bad news. The Governor vetoed it. The next step is an override attempt. This will happen soon.

The state will save money with this new temporary GAMC program, because it will reduce the amount of emergency care that will be needed if it is gone. If you care about the health of poor people, please contact you elected representative and ask them to support the override.

This cannot happen without you.

Find your legislator’s contact information and call, email or send a letter today.

Thank you!

1 thought on “Action Needed!

  1. Joe Kelly

    Rally for Insurance Coverage for Mental Illness

    Join us in-person or via webcast for “We Speak UP! Time to Talk about Eating Disorders Treatment & Recovery,” The Emily Program Foundation’s Eating Disorders Awareness Week (EDAW) event.

    The rally will feature:
    * Action steps to increase access to benefits and treatment for eating disorders and other mental illnesses.
    * Announcement of a federal lawsuit against a large national insurer for denying eating disorders treatment coverage to a Wisconsin woman.
    * Forum for participants to write their insurance companies and state insurance regulators.
    * Opportunity for participants to add their insurance stories to those being gathered by the National Eating Disorders Association.

    When: Friday, February 26 at 11:00 AM Central time

    Who:
    Kitty Westin, M.A., L.P., past president, Eating Disorders Coalition for Policy, Research & Action
    Scott Crow, M.D., University of Minnesota professor of psychiatry & eating disorders researcher
    Elizabeth I. Wrobel, J.D., attorney, Wrobel & Smith, PLLP
    “Jane Doe,” plaintiff in the federal lawsuit

    Where:
    In Person: The Emily Program Foundation, 2265 Como Ave., St. Paul, MN 55108 or
    Online: Live streaming webcast @ http://www.ustream.tv/channel/time-to-talk-rally-2010
    Noon EST
    11 AM CST
    10 AM MST
    9 AM PST
    Webcast viewers are full participants; they can submit questions, chat with each other and Twitter throughout the event.

    Speak UP for Eating Disorders Treatment & Recovery by advocating for adequate insurance coverage.

    Rally with us in St. Paul or on the web for this exciting, inspiring, and free event!

    Sponsored by The Emily Program Foundation. info@emilyprogramfoundation.com

    Please share this announcement widely with friends and colleagues. Share on list servs, email, etc.

    Also: share the following status update on Facebook, Twitter and other social networks:
    Rally for access to eating disorders treatment: Feb. 26 in St. Paul or via live webcast. Details @ http://theemilyprogram.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.